Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Absolutely no particular order or any kind of top here. It would be too hard and unfair to do that. It’s just movies that I love. Mostly arty, poetic, slow, dreamy, biographic and smart. Just the way I like it.

1. The Holiday (2006). Since we’re all in Christmassy mood by now. There’s something charming about this one that I can’t quite put my finger on. It does pretty well for a chick flick.

2. Closer(2004) It’s witty, it’s beautiful, it’s with Natalie Portman, it’s true, it’s painful. I rest my case.

3. Fur: An Imaginary Portrait of Diane Arbus (2006). As queer and intriguingly beautiful as her photos and subjects.

4. My life without me (2003). I adore all those silences. And the rain scene at the beginning which makes me feel like I am standing myself with bare feet in the grass letting the summer rain pour on me. Also the glass music is mesmerizing.

5. New York, I love you (2009). Oh, much better than the Paris version. Such beautifully put together stories which go straight to your heart. No way around it. I love it.

6. What dreams may come (1998). Unreal and fascinating scenes. Every scene feels like being in a painting. It was really inspiring the first 15 times I saw it. (Ok, maybe not 15, but at least 4).

7. Sylvia (2003). I always fall for great people’s biographies. The lines are literally poetic and Gwyneth Paltrow is as exquisite as always.

8. Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2008). For the warmth and the feeling of a crazy summer vacation with a taste of mediterranean wine. Also the images of Gaudi’s buildings make my brain climax.

9. Before Sunset (2004). I was hoping from the first second after I finished watching Before Sunrise that I get to see if they meet or not as promised. Once again splendid views of a great city with a great deal of melancholy. Also Julie Delpy is still bewitching in her very French way.

10. Bright Star (2009). Not another movie picturing the 1800s that would scream fake like Pride and Prejudice or Sense and Sensibility. Finally some proper acting. Each frame seems as carefully composed as a Renaiassance painting. Watching it is like  reading a poem in images.

11. Ghost World (2001).  Art, young Scarlet, young Thora and the end of school with a lot of irony and modern culture floating around. Adorable.

12. In the mood for love (2000). Oh, the music of Shigeru Umebayashi combined with all those smoky, rainy, speechless scenes= in the mood for love.

13. Chungking Express(1994). For the accurately rendered feel of the urban life, for how insanely hot an asian chick with blond hair, trenchcoat and dark sunglasses can look, for the funny lines, for the terribly pretty faye wong and that awesome version of California Dreaming.

 

 

