Tags

, , , , ,

Handmade Watercolor Sketchbook

I have been very frustrated lately that it is so hard to find good watercolor sketchbooks in Europe. I realized I had lots of paper and cardboard I wasn’t using, so I decided to invest in a few tools for making my own. So far it seems like a very wise investment.

I used a wonderful tutorial for most of this by Otterluv. However I added a few things to help when on the run (a pocket at the back and an elastic to hold it closed tight). I started with some tools, but I ended up ditching some and adding others. I also used paper glue. The blue paper was never used cause it was not big enough.

So, left to right: packing paper, hole punch, craft knife, elastic, fabric, waxed linen thread, bookbinder’s needle, double sided tape, strong glue, ruler, scissors, 300g watercolor paper and an A3 cardboard from an used pad. Also used an old brush and a wooden bookmark for spreading the glue.

20141025_224946

20141026_000359

Cut the papers and folded them into signatures/stacks. Also made marks through the center.

This was pretty fun. Sewing the papers together, then sewing the signatures together.

This was pretty fun. Sewing the papers together, then sewing the signatures together.

Glued the fabric to the cover parts. I accidentally skipped a step here but I hope it will be fine.

Glued the fabric to the cover parts. I accidentally skipped a step here but I hope it will be fine.

Glued also the first and last signature to the cardboard

Glued also the first and last signature to the cardboard inside

DSC_3971

Glued wrapping paper on each cover, then glued some cheap white paper to hide the edges inside.

But before that I added an elastic band.

But before that I added an elastic band.

Yeeey. It lies flat when opened. I am hoping to have time to do some panoramas.

Yeeey. It lies flat when opened. I am hoping to have time to do some panoramas.

Also made an envelope and glued on the inside cover at the back. Useful for collecting stuff or having my pocket color wheel.

Also made an envelope and glued on the inside cover at the back. Useful for collecting stuff or having my pocket color wheel.

DSC_3974

Handmade Watercolor Sketchbook

Can’t wait to use it 😀

 

 

 

